Art Space - Governance


Current Board Members:


CHAIR: Oliver Sumner

Oliver Sumner is an independent curator and learning specialist. He has worked with artists in participatory and interactive projects for over 20 years in London and South East England.
Oliver’s activities include research, evaluation and project management. He has undertaken freelance contracts for many cultural organisations including Arts Council England, the British Council, Engage (National Association for Gallery Education), Iniva, the Museums Association, the Sorrell Foundation, and Tate.
As a curator, he has produced socially-engaged projects, international exchanges, residencies, and exhibitions. He has worked in senior programming roles for public galleries including Aspex Gallery, Portsmouth, and John Hansard Gallery, University of Southampton. Between 2001 and 2006 he was Head of Education at Camden Arts Centre, London.  Oliver completed an MA in History of Art in 1997. He lives in Portsmouth.



Nick Wood is a Trustee and the current Treasurer. He is from Portsmouth and joined the financial services sector here over 35 years ago. He now works in the area following periods spent working in Jersey, Isle of Man and London.

Nick is married to Tanya who is one of the studio holders and wants to support the growth of Artspace to ensure it plays a major part in the Arts in the area. He is particularly keen to grow the educational support Artspace can provide for both for its artist members and externally for the Portsmouth / Hampshire community.


TRUSTEE: Ginny Topp  - Artist

Ginny Topp first came to Art Space after being awarded the student graduate residency and following this she moved into a studio permanently.

After many years at the University of Portsmouth and graduating with BSC in 3 Dimensional Design and MA in Fine Art, in 2012 Ginny founded the Clay Station after rescuing the ceramic equipment when the UoP closed down the workshop. She works with community groups in Portsmouth and provides courses for those interested in working with clay.

Her practice is eclectic, as a ceramic artist, oil painter and silversmith.



TRUSTEE: Bridget Lloyd- Artist

Bridget Lloyd has been a studio holder and member of Art Space Portsmouth since 1984.  She has exhibited her work as part of Art Space Portsmouth group shows and at open studio events.  Her work is about the forces and energies in landscape.  Bridget is interested in the divisions and boundaries imposed on the land by natural and human forces. 

Bridget is also involved in education teaching Art and Design to 11 – 16 year olds at Portchester Community School.

TRUSTEE (ARTIST LIAISON): David Leefe Kendon- Artist

David is a sculptor working primarily with wood and has been a member of Art Space Portsmouth since the 1980s. David also works in the University of Portsmouth as a technical resources manager within the Faculty of Cultural and Creative Industries.

As an artist David’s work explores the use of rules like mathematics that we use to make simple everyday objects such as chairs and boxes. David’s practice works with these languages to communicate, understand and explain the world.

As a long term member of Art Space Portsmouth, David feels it is important to commit his time, experience and skills to ensure the organisation’s continued survival. He believes in giving back to the local community and Art Space, to acknowledge the support he has received over the past 30 years though the provision of affordable studio space, group exhibitions, exchanges, projects and the company of like-minded and committed artists.



Tim Sage is a self-employed architect living and working in Southsea – since 1984 - specialising in building conservation.  Before settling into full-time practice, he had been a technical editor for the weekly journal for architects, and for three years a full time university lecturer in architecture in Malaysia, and subsequently part-time for a number of years at the University of Portsmouth.  He has exploited every opportunity of introducing art into architecture, and has commissioned a number of works for clients.  He was responsible for designing the disabled access to the Brougham Road gallery and subsequently its conversion to studios.  He hopes to assist Art Space in assuring the future of artists’ studios of the highest standard in well-maintained and serviced accommodation.


TRUSTEE: Dianna Djokey

Dianna is a cultural coordinator and museum freelancer who aims to develop tangible ways the local communities of Portsmouth can engage with museums and their historical collections, organising cultural events, workshops, learning sessions and speaking publicly about how museums and communal spacescan accommodate taboo subjects and invisible voices within the sector. Dianna enjoys all things museums, reading, writing/blogging about social issues and learning about different people and their cultures. 



TRUSTEE: Denise Callender

Denise Callender is an experienced curator and promotions manager at the University of Portsmouth with an undergraduate degree in Fine Art and a post graduate degree in Curating Contemporary Design.  Denise project manages public facing events and exhibitions which include the Faculty of Creative and Cultural Industries annual Graduate Show.

Public Engagement is a key part of her role and she especially enjoys working collaboratively to develop educational projects, commissioning creative practitioners to inspire young people and to de-mystify research. Partner organisations include Aspex Gallery, Portsmouth Cultural Trust, Art Space Portsmouth, Portsmouth Festivities and Journeys Festival International.
Denise lives in Southsea and is passionate about the arts and the City of Portsmouth.  She is married to Jonty and has two children Marcus and Natasha.




Art Space Portsmouth Limited. 27 Brougham Road, Southsea, Hampshire PO5 4PA   Email:
Registered Charity No. 1106685 / Registered Company No. 1590132